Current Team Members

Yongjie Yang

Professor of Neuroscience

BA, Marine Biology, Ocean University of China
MS, Genetics, Ocean University of China
PhD, Neuroscience, Iowa State University
Postdoctoral Training, John Hopkins University

yongjie.yang@tufts.edu

Rashed Alananzeh

Research Technician

BA, Biology, Boston University, Boston, MA

Rashed graduated from Boston University in January of 2021 with honors of Magna Cum Laude. He received his bachelor of arts degree in Biology (Specialization in Cellular, Molecular, and Genetics). He is planning to apply to graduate school to start in the Fall of 2023. He enjoys immersing himself in the community and connecting with new individuals. Rashed is a hands-on mechanic and likes to fix and work on cars in his free time. He also enjoys reading and writing poetry.

rashed.alananzeh@tufts.edu

Marcela Bertolio

Post-Doctoral Scholar

Marcela.Bertolio@tufts.edu

Xuan Chen

Post-Doctoral Scholar

Xuan.Chen@tufts.edu

Rachel Jarvis

Sr. Research Technician

BS, Biochemistry, University of Dallas, Irving ,TX
MA, Virology, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA

rachel_m.jarvis@tufts.edu

I received my B.S. in Biochemistry from the University of Dallas in 2012, and a Master’s degree in Virology from Harvard University in 2017, where I studied entry mechanisms of neurotropic viruses. I joined the Yang lab in 2017 and have been studying the role of exosomal neuron-glia communication in mouse models of diseases such as addiction, Fragile X, and ALS, in addition to serving as the lab manager. Outside the lab, I enjoy soccer (playing and watching), playing tabletop games with friends, and reading.

Shijie Jin

Research Associate

MBBS, Medicine, Liaoning Medical University, Jinzhou, China
PhD, Medicine, Graduate School of Medicine, Nagoya University, Nagoya, Japan

shijie.jin@tufts.edu

Most of my studies have focused on the role of glial cells in neuro-immunological diseases and neurodegenerative diseases. Recently I worked on “Cell type specific exosomes signaling in disease spreading of ALS” project. In the current study, we developed a cell-type specific exosome reporter mouse line (hCD63-GFP conditional knock-in, CD63-CKI) in which a GFP-fused CD63 can be induced in a particular cell type when bred with the cell-type specific Cre driver mice or stereotaxic injection of viral vectors expressing Cre recombinase. By employing this mouse tool, we found that exosomes are widely present in the CNS, and that astrocyte-secreted exosomes are significantly changed in SOD1 (G93A) mouse model of ALS. Our ultimate goal is to clarify the role of cell type specific exosomes and create novel beneficial therapeutic strategies for neurodegenerative disease.

Francesca Mowry

Postdoctoral Scholar

Francesca.Mowry@tufts.edu

Kathryn Reynolds

Postdoctoral Scholar

Kathryn.Reynolds@tufts.edu